2022 Directors & Staff

The Board of Directors is an elected body representing three local entities: The County of Rockbridge and the Cities of Lexington and Buena Vista.  Each entity has two elected directors and there are two appointed directors:  at-large and the county extension agent.  Elections for directors take place every four years during the general election.

Board of Directors

 

Robert G. "Rob" Deyo, Chair

Term: 2016 (Buena Vista)

2220 Forest Avenue

Buena Vista, VA 24416

Cell: 540-460-5396

Office: 540-319-6461

rob@deyo.us

Timothy L. "Tim" Goodbar

Term: 2020 (Rockbridge)

116 Denmark Way

Lexington, VA 24450

Cell: 540-460-8737

gbar3farms@yahoo.com

Herbert W. "Herbie" Huffman

Term: 2021 (Buena Vista)

225 Magnolia Avenue

Buena Vista, VA 24416

Cell: 540-570-6540

huffman3@embarqmail.com

Lawrence E. “Larry” Hurd, Treasurer

Term:  2020 (Lexington)

901 Thornhill Road

Lexington, VA  24450

Cell:  540-461-6885

Office: 540-458-8484

hurdl@wlu.edu

J. Reid Mackey, Vice Chair

Term:  2020 (Rockbridge)

1060 Reid Road

Lexington, VA 24450

Cell: 540-460-0199

mackeyreid@gmail.com

 

Thomas A. “Tom” Stanley, Extension Agent

Term:  2010 (Appointed)

Rockbridge Extension Office

PO Drawer 897

Lexington, VA 24450

Cell: 540-588-0241

Office: 540-463-4734

stanleyt@vt.edu

Charles Winder

Term: 2022 (Lexington)

3 Sellers Avenue

Lexington, VA 24450

Cell: 951-675-8094

winderc@wlu.edu 

Becky Szarzynski

Term: 2022 (At-Large)

PO Box 102

Fairfield, VA 24435

Cell: 540-461-0969

beckyszar@yahoo.com 

 

Associate Directors

Brian Jenkins

1003 Big Spring Drive

Lexington, VA 24450

(540) 462-7933 Home

e-mail:  btjenkins70@gmail.com

Staff

 

Lee Cummings, Conservation Technician                

Hire: 2015

40 Magnolia Square Way, Suite 5

Lexington, VA  24450

(540) 319-6459

Cell: (540) 570-0190

e-mail: lee.cummings@vaswcd.org

 

Robert Hickman, District Manager

Hire: 1990

40 Magnolia Square Way, Suite 5

Lexington, VA  24450

(540) 319-6463

Cell:  (540) 570-0236

e-mail:  robert.hickman@vaswcd.org

Jennifer Huffman, Office Administrator 

Hire: 2022             

40 Magnolia Square Way, Suite 5

Lexington, VA  24450

(540) 319-6453

e-mail:  jennifer.huffman@vaswcd.org

Margaret Spencer, Administrative Assistant 

Hire: Contractual FY22-23

(540) 319-6453

e-mail: margaret.spencer@vaswcd.org 

Officers

Robert G. "Rob" Deyo, FOIA Officer 

Jennifer Huffman, LVA Records Retention Officer